Don’t Close the Door Behind you!!

Don’t close the door behind you!! A loud scream I let out as my daughter leaves the room. We’ve become used to shouting in this house. We shout because that’s what makes someone else hear us, right? My husband always speaks in a loud voice. It doesn’t matter who is at home with us. He doesn’t care if the neighbors can hear us. He just shouts.

He shouts about everything, big or small alike. Go open the gate! I told you I don’t like my eggs scrambled! You are nothing without me, that’s how I know you will not leave me! I’m the head of this house! Where is my white golf shirt! I told you to be ready by midday! You are useless! Go and make me a cup of tea! Carry the passports, we’re going on holiday!

He doesn’t like closed doors. He wants every door open within the house because he wants to hear any conversations or activities taking place. He wants to know we are not talking about him. He wants to be sure we are not plotting an Arab spring. He needs to know why we are laughing because every laugh is assumed to be about him. The reality though is we never laugh anyways, we no longer find anything funny.

I also hate closed doors. For reasons not the same as his. Closed doors remind me of the days I spend locked up by him as punishment. Closed doors remind me of the times he shuts the door to beat the living life out of me. Closed doors remind me of having to hide the kids in the pantry because their father has knives out ready to kill me. Closed doors make me think I have nowhere to go, yet I know that one day I shall walk free. Don’t close the door behind me!

Leave a comment